Sometimes Ministry is… [Volume 2]

A couple years ago I wrote volume one of this post (although I didn’t call it volume 1), today I thought I’d give you guys an update on ministry through a list of things that ministry is, some of these are typical ministry tasks others are typical life things I use to be intentional in my ministry! Here goes:

Sometimes ministry is…

  1. Getting a dog: if you read my newsletter or follow me on social media, you know I got a dog a few months ago. Sir Ellis Hamilton is his formal name but we call him Ellis. Ellis has been a great addition to my life and ministry. He’s a great companion and on top of that a great ministry tool for meeting neighbors and hanging out at the park!
  2. Letting your 9 year old neighbor play with your dog: when I moved into my apartment I met D and A. D is a single mom raising 9 year old A right across the hall from me. One of our first conversation was late one night when she knocked on my door desperate for prayer. Over the last year and half we have interacted on several occasions and they have come to church a couple times. They were both super excited when I got Ellis and offered to help out. Once a week they take the dog out and A plays with him at my apartment for as long as she wants. Sometimes I’m there with her, sometimes I’m not but I use this as a great opportunity to invest in their lives.
  3. Coaching: Recently, we have started a formalized coaching ministry through Send NYC. We have trained church planting pastors and church planting team members to coach other missionaries serving in similar roles. I am coaching Michael and Shannon who recently joined the New City team as team members. Michael and Shannon are going to lead the way on our multiplication efforts in Queens. They have served most recently in college ministry but spent a couple years in a mega city in Asia. They are bringing great things to our team and church planting efforts in NYC.
  4. Preparing for the summer: Over the past several months, I have been working with NAMB and another local church planter, Ed Pacheco, to prepare for GenSend NYC this summer. I will be serving alongside Ed as GenSend coaches. We have been recruiting students from across the nation to serve through this 6 week internship with church plants. I’m excited to be a part of this internship as these students will help move the ball forward in church planting! I’m also excited to see how God will use this summer to help shape the lives of the students who will be with us.
  5. Mobilizing Missionaries: A great deal of my ministry with Send NYC is mobilizing and coaching new Church Planting Team Members. Being a part of other missionaries’ support teams is such a joy for me. I also serve on our Church Planting Assessment Team, leading a team of planters and leaders to assess new church planting pastors to serve through NAMB. Our assessment team leads three assessments a year meeting with potential planters assessing them on areas of leadership, communication, emotional and spiritual health and church planting readiness. They also meet with a  family dynamics counselor and experienced church planter and planters wives have a one on one interview with another planters wife. The retreat is a well rounded event that helps to identify God’s calling in a planters life and the planters readiness to step into this important role.
  6. Shepherding and leading others: Recently at New City I took on the task of leading our volunteers. I schedule them, train them and my prayer is that through our relationship they are growing in their relationship with Christ and in their areas of leadership. I love how God has equipped each of us to lead in different ways and I love helping our volunteers discover those gifts.
  7. Being kind and loving others: If I’m real honest most of my ministry to the lost around me and the people in our young church plant is finding ways to show them love and kindness. Most of the world around us isn’t used to strangers, even Christians, showing them kindness. So when I’m at a lost in what to do, I just show kindness. 

    While this list isn’t exhaustive, I hope it creates a picture for you of what ministry looks like in my life right now.

Leave a Reply

